So crazy in love with KEXP.


    When I moved to Seattle in October of 2003 from the cold tundra of the Kenai Peninsula I didn’t know what real radio was like.  I had become attuned to stations that boasted playing songs form the 80’s 90’s and today.  After seeing numerous Subaru station wagons with a yellow KEXP bumper sticker on them I decided to check it out.

    The gift of music was given to me that day.  The Flaming lips, Antony and the Johnsons, The Smiths, The Vaselines, Modest Mouse, Dyme Def, Pretty Girls Make Graves, Nina Simone and may others!  I couldn’t get enough.  Shake the shack is my favorite show on the station.  It plays old rockabilly and blues.  World music was never anything that interested me until I heard Thievery Corporation and Sigur Ros.  Sigur Ros live is something everyone must do before they die just sayin’.

    The other night while listening to KEXP on-line,  a cover of Beyonce’s “Crazy In Love” came on.  The artist covering the song was Antony Hegarty of Antony and the Johnsons.  Never has such beauty come from a pop song.  It’s really amazing when someone can take a song most of us have heard one thousand times and make it new.  I felt like I was in a musical slump not hearing much good music makes me sad.  Antony and the Johnsons have picked me up from my musical depression and put a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

