Ugh!


    If you have read my blogs in the past you know that in October I started training to be a dispatcher.  Well I tried my hand at it and I have decided that CAPCOM is not the place for me.  I didn’t pass my S.O.D (supervisor observation day).  I tried really hard but in my heart I know this is not the job for me.  I can;t do it!  You have to be soo quick with life and death decisions and my brain doesn’t work that way. 

    No hard feelings…..actually I feel really good.  I tried something completely new and out of the ordinary.  Not many people can say they have answered a 911 call, I can and it feels very cool.  It was a bad experience I went through things I thought I wouldn’t be able to.  Listening to someone be abused over the phone wasn’t fun neither was the time I listened to a woman yell at her kid so loud it made my ear hurt.  They weren’t fun to go through but on the other hand i helped those people…and that’s what felt good. 

    When it comes down to it you have to be very quick and able to multi task like a mad man.  Unfortunately for me the quickness and multi tasking thing were not on my side, if I could answer the phone on my time…you know every once in a while I would be fine.  The training and being able to see what goes on behind the scenes is something I’ll always carry with me.  The one thing I will be most appreciative about this experience is that now I know what Angela does !  I can relate with her on certain things that go on at work and now I can understand that after working a ten-hour shift at the call center it really does exhaust you physically without even having to get up.  So in the end, great life experience.

                                                                                            P.S. I need a job!

Leave a Reply

