Sorry…I kinda forgot I had a blog


We are a little over two weeks into the year and I haven’t posted anything.  My bad.  I will post more often…starting now.

I’ve been getting ready for NWRBC coming up next Friday in Tacoma.  This will be my second time competing and I’m pretty stoked about it.  I think Baristas should try it at least once.  Regionals are a great opportunity to be in front of your peers, share awesome coffee and create an amazing experience for the judges.

I chose to use Bluebeard Coffee out of Tacoma this year.  Kevin Roaster/Owner from Bluebeard visited EP in August and dropped off some of his espresso The Narrows blend.  I threw it in the hopper and magic came out.  The shot tasted like marzipan and sunshine.  From tasting that shot I knew I wanted to use his coffee for competition.  I’m so lucky to have them as a coffee sponsor and be able to rep a Tacoma roaster.

Espresso Parts is once again supporting me by covering my entry fees and helping with small-wares costs.  I’m fortunate to work for a company that is completely committed to the Barista community and coffee industry.

I know that competing is spendy but there are a few things you can do to cut down on costs.  Ask the roaster if they will sponsor you, this can be by selling the coffee to you at a discount or even covering the cost completely.  See if your employer will cover any costs you might have be that entry fees or small-wares.  Don’t forget BGA members are a great source of knowledge when it comes to competing and anything coffee.  There are a lot of people that want to help all you have to do is ask.

Alright, I gotta go play in the snow with my doggy.

Leave a Reply

